CENTER COURT Newsletter of the Connecticut Women's Basketball Hall of Fame DATE: 3/1/03

Ann Fariss, Executive Director/FounderLouise Albrecht, Treasurer/Founder/MembershipLinda Wooster, Secretary/FounderLouise Albrecht, Treasurer/Founder/MembershipBrenda Reilly, Founder (Posthumus)Lee Franzman, Nominating ChairpersonTony Candido, Fund Raising Chairperson/FounderLaura Degennaro Raftery, Board Member/ScribnerLynn Spagnesi, Computer ConsultantJean Hunt, Historian/ArchivistPat Mascia, Publicity/PromotionMarge Dolan, Board Member

DRIBBLE The Connecticut Women's Basketball Hall of Fame will be celebrating its 16th year of existence and fourth of the new millennium on April 10, 2003 at 500 Blake Street Café in New Haven. The festivities "tap off" at 6:00 p.m. with a cash bar, followed by dinner and our awards presentation. The significance of the celebration becomes increasingly heightened each year, as the evening becomes a tangible demonstration of the fantastic growth and continued development of the sport we love so dearly. It will be an evening to meet up with old friends and recognize those individuals who have laid the foundation and continue to promote and support athletic opportunities that presently exist for so many Connecticut women. The evening will also serve to honor and induct seven outstanding new individuals who have assisted tremendously in bringing acclaim, honor and distinction to the sport of women's basketball in our state. As always, we welcome your input and support throughout the year, and especially your attendance at our banquet to acknowledge those special people who have contributed so much. We hope to see you on the 10th.

2003 Inductees Ms. June Olah	High School Coach
Ms. April Hunt Palm	High School Player
Ms. Laurie Roche-Price	High School Player
Ms. Charlene Taylor	College Player (Small)
Ms. Stacey Cagenello	College Player (Large)
Ms. Carol Robertson	Referee
Ms. Donna Lopiano	Honorary

For information and reservations concerning this year's celebration, please contact Ann Fariss at 76 W. Hillside Ave., Stratford, CT 06615 (Tel: 203-378-6581). [DIRECTIONS TO 500 BLAKE STREET]

In Memory.... To Keep her passion for excellence alive, The Connecticut Women's Basketball Hall of Fame will once again proudly announces the recipient *Brenda Reilly Memorial High School Award*. This award is given to the outstanding high school girls' basketball team in the State of Connecticut. A selection committee, comprised of members of the Executive Board of the Hall of Fame, selects the high school using specific criteria. The coach of the selected team, as well as a team representative, will be the guests of the Hall of Fame during the annual banquet. This award is in honor of Dr. Brenda Reilly, Associate Athletic Director of Central Connecticut State University, and one of the founders of the Connecticut Women's Basketball Hall of Fame. We will be proud to announce the recipient of this year's *Brenda Reilly Memorial High School Award at this year's dinner on April 10, 2003*

In Addition : The *Brenda Reilly Youth Camp Scholarship* will be awarded to a young girl to attend a summer basketball camp in Connecticut. The camp selected will rotate throughout the State of Connecticut and the recipient and her parents or guardian will be the guest of the CWBBHF at our annual banquet. The basketball camp of **Joe Frager, of Southern Connecticut State University** has been selected as the 2003 scholarship recipient.

Home for the Hall: We are very proud to announce that our Hall of Fame/Brenda Reilly Gallery has found a home. The Hall will be permanently housed in the lobby of Kaiser Gymnasium of the campus of Central Connecticut State University. The designated area is ideal as it will be visible to all who come through the doors. Visitors will be treated to the history of the great events, athletic achievements and individuals who have contributed to the unprecendented success of Connecticut women's basketball. A very special thanks to Ann Fariss, Louise Albrecht and the Central Connecticut Administration for their efforts in turning a dream into reality. The dedication and opening ceremony will be held on Saturday June 7th, 2003 at CCSU. For more information contact Ann Fariss, Executive Director at (203) 378-6581.

Update on the CWBHOF website.... Through the outstanding efforts of Lynn Spagnesi, our new website provides the "history" of the organization, pictures and biographies of all Hall of Fame Inductees, the CWBHF consitution, a page on the banquet's ceremony, the committee members, newsletters and much much more. This informative site is a great resource for those wishing to learn about the history and development of Women's Basketball in the state of Connecticut. Your are invited to join us at <u>www.ctwomensbasketballhalloffame.com</u>

Kudos..... Dave Strong, the Masuk High School Girls coach was named the National High School Coach of the Year in 2002. He coached Ann Odoy, a CWBHOF Inductee during the 1980's. Also, the Masuk High School Girls team recently qualified for the State Tournament. It is the **30th consecutive year** they have done so. They are the only team in the state to accomplish this remarkable feat!

Kudos continue..... Our very own Board Member, Laura Degennaro Raftery, will be honored this spring at the Hamden High annual *Distinguished Alumni* Awards Dinner, sponsored by the Hamden Education Foundation. The HEF was formed in 2001 to raise funds and provide scholarships/programs for students. Congratulations Laura!

Contribution to the Cause.... The CWBHOF Committee is determined to provide maximum service to/for Connecticut Women's Basketball. To give you the best we have to give and to stay abreast with the increasing demands of operating our initiatives, we would welcome any financial contributions to defray our operating costs. If interested, please contact Louise Albrecht at 203-256-0930. Thank you.